Day 4 of Card Captain week

Hello again,

Today you not only get a card but a video as well.

Being Thursday, that means technique day.  I have a slightly more complex card for you.  It takes a bit more work, measuring, cutting, stamping, colouring and of course putting it all together.  And I’m not ashamed to say I had to watch it several times and even as I was making the card in order to get it right.

But I loved the card when I saw Dawn Griffith’s video, so downloaded the instructions and made it while on holiday, as you do.

The instructions are provided in the video as you watch, so pause it write down the instructions and go again.  The written instructions include the paper colours, measurements but not the actual cutting you need to do to get the “flip”.  The “ingredients” Dawn used are Stampin’ Up products but I didn’t have any Stampin’ Up papers or stamps so I used Michael Strong Stamps whatever papers and other stamps I had to hand.  I have included the cutting measurements here:

You will need 2 pieces of different coloured card stock and 1 sheet of white. You will of course need your adhesives whether double-sided tape or tape runner or glue whichever is your preference.

Card blank – 5 1/2″ x 8 ½”

Cutting:

White cardstock:

  • cut 2 at 2 1/2″ x 2 ½” and
  • cut 1 at 3 3/4” x 5”

The second colour card stock:

  • cut 2 at 2 3/4” x 2 3/4” and
  • cut 1 at 4” x 5 1/4”

At this point it is best to watch the video – I watched it so many times, I lost count.

When you watch the video have paper and pencil to write down the blank card cutting measurements.

I have attempted to give you the cutting instructions here but it will help you understand better by watching the video.

  1. Using your scoring board or cutter with scorer place the 8 1/2″ side across the top and score at 4 1/4″;
  2. Take the edge and line up at 3″ using the cutting arm and cutting blade, line blade up at 2 1/2″ and cut down to 4 7/8″;
  3. Turn so the 5 1/2″ side is across the top.
  4. Take the edge and line up at 3″ using the cutting arm and cutting blade, line blade up at 3″ and cut up to the 5/8″ .

Once all the cutting is done fold the blank in half (remember you scored at 4 1/4″).  Then take the top right corner (on the opening side) of the square you have just cut and fold down toward the centre, making sure that the fold of the square is even.  Using a bone scorer helps to make sure the crease stays in place.  Watch the video again if you need to.

Now that all the cutting and folding is done, time to do your stamping and colouring which are up to personal choice.  I used the Michael Strong mini flower and large and small tulips.  Other stamps I had to hand for leaves etc.

Well, having given you the technique, it is time to show you my card, I have taken 3 photos of it to show all angles of the finished card.

I hope you enjoy the card and video as much as I have making the card.  I’m not sure which is more difficult getting the card done or writing all this up! lol.  Have fun, I will show you the first three cards for this week later, but as you get 3 photos this time plus a video I think it is enough to keep you going for a while.  Enjoy!  Till next time.

Day 4 Front of card

Day 4 Centre of card

Day 4 Inside back of card front

 

About raevon59

Frustrated computer user who is trying to get her online business going!
This entry was posted in Card Captain - MSSGroup, Cards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 4 of Card Captain week

  1. Laura Holm says:

    Way cool card, Lola! I love it! Would like to give this technique a try sometime! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. 4hetty says:

    Wow, great idea Lola and thanks for the tutorial! Your card is awesome.

Leave a Reply

