Card captain – Technique day

Hi there folks,

A lot has happened since my last post here, but mostly in my personal life and not really relevant to share, suffice to say I’ve been occupied with a number of different things.

Study has been one of my activities this year and has limited my time for cardmaking so I haven’t been making as many as previously, but I still try to do a week of being card captain now and then.  It seems that I only get to post here when I am card captain.  People say you should post every day about what you do, how you feel, etc. however, if I did that I wouldn’t have any followers, why, because it would be boring to read the same “stuff” over and over.  I find that with Facebook, seeing the same “stuff” being shared over and over by different people, family fueds and I don’t mean the television game show, lol.

Anyway, I had better get this post done and  get some sleep.

Here is my technique to which I referred early in the week (for those in the Michael Strong Group).  It is a very simple technique but it does take some thinking through before you start.

The first thing you need to think about is what you want as you main focus, in my case it was the list of different coffees on the back of a pack of Nescafé Cappuccino sachets.  Trimmed to fit onto a card.

Make your card blank, and once you have your focus, decide what stamps you wish to use, I used the coffee cups, worked out what I thought would be more effective, cutting out and mounting or stamp underneath as background as well.  I decided to stamp as background as well because I didn’t have any patterned papers that would have been appropriate.

For the stamp I used KAISERfusion BR10 pen instead of inks, just a warning with that, you need to make sure you use stamp cleaner after and rinse the stamp off in water.  Do your stamping and cutting out if that’s what you wish to do, before you start assembling your card.

Once you have your background sorted, and all the stamping and cutting out that you want done, start by attaching your “focus” which in my case was the list of coffees.  When your card is assembled – done.  It is more complex to think out what you want to do and then explain how, than it is to actually do.  Perhaps that is why I don’t enter too many competitions, because I don’t keep a record of brands, and measurements. 🙂

Anyway have a go and if you wish you can upload your card on my Crafty things Facebook page <https://www.facebook.com/makeNtakes/> .

For now I will load the “coffee” card and today’s card “teas”, which used similar method to the coffee card.  Enjoy and let me have your comments either here or on my Facebook page.  Bye for now.  PS I can’t seem to get the Tea card to go landscape so apologies for that.

cotd-2-20dec2016

cotd-3-22dec2016

 

About raevon59

Frustrated computer user who is trying to get her online business going!
This entry was posted in Card Captain - MSSGroup, Craft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

