COTD Day 4 – Technique Day

Port Macquarie at sunset.

Port Macquarie at sunset.

Hello everyone, it’s Thursday so it must be technique day. I was having trouble finding a technique that I could use which hasn’t been done but … thoughts were gone. So I came up with a simple idea which even beginners can do.

What you will need:

  • 1 x photo (4×6″ – trimmable, of something you really like);
  • cardstock – for card blank (fold and measure) – mine is A5 or 8-1/4″ x 5-3/4″;
  • spare cardstock to stamp your image (you could use slightly thicker coloured or patterned paper);
  • coloured/patterned paper – measure and cut to fit card blank (mat for photo);
  • Michael Strong stamp you wish to use;
  • double-sided tape, scissors, cutters and other usual tools;
  • magic mount – adhesive mounting squares or cut to size as you need;
  • Ranger Distress Stain or ink for stamping – I used Picket Fence and Brushed Pewter stains.

Now, make your card blank, measure up your patterned/coloured paper and photo. The photo should be trimmable, for example in my card I trimmed some of the ocean to fit the photo on the mat, only about (1/4″ or 1/2cm).

Once you have your card blank, patterned/coloured paper (mat) and photo all trimmed and ready to assemble – assemble – using double sided tape.

Get your stamp and apply ink or stain in the colour of your choice for stamping onto your chosen cardstock. Once dry, fussy cut and attach to your photo using double sided tape and magic mount on the middle one on my card. Done.

Card complete, all you need to do is add a sentiment if you wish.

I hope you enjoy the card I made, it is a photo I took when we were in Port Macquarie last year, it was getting a little late in the day when I took it and the sunset was beautiful.

As I said, a simple technique combining photos, stamping and blending colours.

Thank you for looking. I hope you have a go at making your own.

About raevon59

Frustrated computer user who is trying to get her online business going!
This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

