Writing blogs – how hard can it be?

Blogs, blogs, blogs and more blogs ….   you hear it everywhere, people ask you if you have a blog.  Well, they say it’s just like writing a diary and that’s fine if you are used to writing a diary on a daily basis but not that easy if you don’t.  I found it difficult to start as I wasn’t used to writing diaries or journals, I did it for some subjects while at university but not as a normal routine.  I never knew what to write, I would sit in front of the computer and think, and think and think some more, I felt that whatever I wrote was irrelevent or uninteresting for anyone else.  So I read up on what sort of things you should write about in your blog and gradually started and then found that even though I didn’t write everyday, once I got started I did have some interesting things I could write about and comment on.   I was recommended WordPress because you don’t need to know all that computer “stuff” like html, you can just type normally,  it would enter all the computer language, the text would appear as you wrote it, so I started with just a couple of posts then nothing for a year or two, then I became involved with a couple of online card making groups and with their encouragement I have added everything you can now see on my blog.   I even did a blog hop last year with one of the groups, which further encouraged me to do more with my website and well, you can see the results.  If you want to check one of my websites here is the link:  http://www.12path.com/candles

There are several places you can start a blog, I found WordPress a good, user friendly one, I still have problems with “maneouvering” pics around and still learning how to arrange things but at least it’s out there for you all to see.  Go on, get started and see what you can do.

A useful book if you need more help:  “WordPress Revealed: How to build a website…  by Matt Wolfe”  and it is available from Amazon at the following link:   http://www.12path.com/Amazon/WPRevealed/

About raevon59

Frustrated computer user who is trying to get her online business going!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

