Books, Books and more books – part two

As promised, the reviews I posted on Amazon about a couple of books I read recently. I received copies of the books I provided 2 reviews one more in line with editing the works, the other giving my opinion of the work as a whole given my experience with having read other works about similar topics. The first one:


 A Review of  “A Positive You: Change your life with the Power of Positive Thinking” By Elizabeth O’Brien

I was honoured and delighted to be asked to review this book.  I have come across and read so many “self-improvement” books and I have found them frustrating because I never actually got instructions as to how I should go about changing my thinking or where I should start.  Yes, they gave you suggestions that you should change your thinking to be more positive, use affirmations etc. and do things differently but never the actual how.

Refreshing to read Elizabeth’s book and find that she does actually give you step-by-step suggestions on how you could change your thinking to be more positive and therefore, improve your outlook and approach to life.

Not everything that happens to you is bad, even if it seems to be.  I have learned that everything happens for a reason and it is our perceptions/thinking/approach that make(s) it bad or otherwise.  This book by Elizabeth O’Brien has really put it into perspective; I have found it to be a real step-by-step instruction book, so much so that I found myself doing the exercises she has included.

A very easy to read and understand book which gives practical advice on improving your attitude and approach to life through changing your thinking.  Applying just a little of what I have read has already helped control my stresses and anxiety about some current situations.  I would recommend it for anyone, in particular, for those of us who need a little more guidance on the path to ‘betterment’.

Well worth the purchase for its ease of reading and very practical advice.

I very much appreciated the opportunity to read this book.”

And the second book:

   A Review of “The Problem is you: how to get out of your own way and conquer self defeating behavior”   by John Burke.

I was honoured to be chosen to review this work.

Because I have been dealing with a number of the issues discussed in this book I felt almost compelled to follow the exercises and suggestions mentioned and then realized, that was not my purpose here, I was here to review the work rather than follow the “instructions” as it were.

The book is concise, yet contains very useful information and suggestions on how to overcome those negatives in your life – namely, you – to improve your situation.  The only person or object stopping you, is in fact, you.

I have read many, many books on how to improve this or that part of my life, however, it all boiled down to how I approached life situations, or how I reacted to them.  The same is true for all of us and this book helps to point us in the right direction and help solve the problem of YOU.

One thing to remember, it is a concise book, therefore, it can only be a stepping stone to help you get over the obstacle of you.

John Burke has written this in such a way that you won’t want to give up until you have finished reading and if you do stop, it would only be to start working on the exercises or follow the suggestions he gives.  The book is written clearly and in a manner that anyone can understand and follow, unlike some other books I have come across that you need to read several times before you understand once.

It was a refreshing read and one that did not make you feel “it’s all too hard” and you give up before you start. Simple methods and suggestions you want to get started on right away.

Enjoy the book, it is well worth the purchase, and you owe it to yourself to at least read it once.  I am now going to read again the parts I marked for myself.”
Well, I hope you enjoy the reviews, I am sure you will enjoy the books.

Until next time.

About raevon59

Frustrated computer user who is trying to get her online business going!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

